University of Notre Dame

Chronicles of Notre Dame du Lac
Edward Sorin, CSC -- Translated by John M. Toohey, CSC, 1895
pg 82        valuable nature.  Besides, should the neighboring towns increase 
             in population, and if Notre Dame du Lac can succeed in purchasing 
             the farm that separates it in one direction from the river, this 
             resource will be quite considerable, and will become a monopoly 
             which will be controlled only by the sense of justice.

                          3.  First House of the Sisters (Bertrand)

                  The Sisters of Holy Cross, as has been said in the preceding 
             chapter, had entered the diocese of Detroit in the year 1844; 
             and they remained there for some time in a rented house.  In order 
             to secure them to their village, the inhabitants of Bertrand 
             offered F. Sorin, for them, seventy-seven acres of ground: the 
             offer was accepted, and the old frame building that had stood 
             there for ten or twelve years was found to occupy the most 
             charming site on the banks of the St. Joseph's river.  The Sisters 
             added to it a new building, also of wood, but more tasty, and 
             large enough to accomodate a little community.  It was a house of 
             two stories, 40 x 20 ft., with an addition of one story, 25 x 20 
             ft. for a kitchen.  Add a fine brick cellar and you have the 
             Sisters' house, which was named Our Lady of the Seven Dolors.  It 
             cost about 5000fr. and was finished only in the spring of 1846.

‹—  Sorin's Chronicles  —›