1948-2016.Origination : Boys and Girls Haven
Oral histories conducted and donated by Michael Diebold; records scanned in the Notre Dame Archives, Spring and Summer 2016, by permission of Boys and Girls Haven.
Boys and Girls Haven Records (BGH), University of Notre Dame Archives (UNDA), Notre Dame, IN 46556
Nineteen compact discs containing containing oral history interviews conducted by Michael Diebold representing the experience of Boys Haven / Boys and Girls Haven residents, counsellors, directors, and board members; digitized records and papers of Boys and Girls Haven, consisting of clippings and memorabilia representing the life of Fr James C. Maloney, founder of Boys Haven; correspondence from the late 1940s about the founding and early years; highlights of board meetings; newsletters; annual reports; a ledger containing the roster of residents; a photo album; and related files. Also two pamphlets about the life of Fr Maloney and Boys Haven; and two autobiographical books written by a former resident.
Father James C. Maloney founded Boys Haven as a home for boys in 1948, where he served until he retired in 1983. Today, as Boys and Girls Haven, the home also provides services for girls.