

Vol. 12



November, 1968

No. 2

Bishop Leo A. Pursley of Fort Wayne-South Bend and Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., Notre Dame president, will officiate at a concelebrated Mass and dedication ceremony December 8th at 3 p.m. marking the formal opening of the Athletic and Convocation Center. A 175-voice chorus will provide music for the Mass to be held in the 12,500-seat basketball arena. The formal dedication climaxes a week-long series of musical and athletic events.

The 100th anniversary of the Notre Dame Alumni Association will be observed the evening of December 6th at a dinner in the Monogram Room of the Athletic and Convocation Center. The Association's fourth annual Sorin Award will be presented to one who has rendered "outstanding service to the University."

Dean William B. Lawless of the Notre Dame Law School and Prof. John W. Houck of the Coilege of Business Administration have been elected chairman and vice chairman of the Student Life Council. The 24-member legislative body is made up of equal numbers of students, professors and administration members.

Rev. John S. Dunne, C.S.C., associate professor of theology, has been named to receive the \$10,000 E. Harris Harbison Award of The Danforth Foundation. The award is made annually to teacher-scholars "who excel in the art of teaching, in the significance of their scholarly contributions and in their concern for students as individuals."

Among recent major gifts to Notre Dame's SUMMA Program: \$500,000 from Mr. and Mrs. Thomas J. White, St. Louis, Mo., for an endowed professorship in the Notre Dame Law School and \$350,000 from the Dorothy H. and Lewis Rosenstiel Foundation, New York City, for an endowed fellowship in Jewish theology at the Institute for Advanced Religious Studies. The current SUMMA total is \$38,736,138 or 74.5% of the \$52 million goal.

Father Hesburgh, recently elected to a three-year term as a trustee of The American Council on Education, will deliver the fall commencement address at Michigan State University December 7th.

An annual \$1,000 award for excellence in teaching has been established in the College of Arts and Letters. To be known as the Rev. Charles E. Sheedy Award in honor of the former dean of the College, the new faculty honor has been funded by a \$25,000 gift from an anonymous alumnus-donor.

Mrs. O. C. Carmichael, Jr., has been named chairman of the Women's Advisory Council at Notre Dame succeeding her mother, Mrs. E. M. Morris, who has consented to serve as honorary chairman. The Council has a membership of 175, principally, but not exclusively, the wives of the University's trustees and advisory council members.

Two Notre Dame theologians, <u>Rev. Edward D. O'Connor, C.S.C.</u>, and <u>Dr. Josephine Massingberd Ford</u>, contributed articles on The Holy Spirit to the November 8th issue of COMMONWEAL. A former managing editor of COMMONWEAL, Notre Dame's <u>Dr. George N. Shuster</u>, received AMERICA's 14th annual Campion Award "for a half-century's contribution to Catholic letters" at a dinner in the New York Hilton November 22nd.

Notre Dame's Board of Trustees have voted to make the president of the Notre Dame Alumni Association an ex-officio Board member. The incumbent, <u>Richard A. Rosenthal</u>, South Bend, Ind., banker, participated in the trustees' meeting of November 8th. The meeting marked the retirement of <u>Bernard J. Voll</u> as chairman of the trustees' investment committee after twenty years in the post and the appointment of Donald Graham as his successor.

The U. S. Air Force Exceptional Service Award, the highest AF honor given to non-military personnel, was presented to Notre Dame's executive vice president, <u>Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C.</u>, at a ceremony in the Memorial Library auditorium November 19th. The honor was conferred by Lt. Gen. Joseph H. Moore, Inspector General for the Air Force.

A consensus statement on "The Restless Christian College" has been released and published in booklet form by a group of twenty-one scholars, students, chaplains and counselors headed by <u>Rev. James T. Burtchaell, C.S.C.</u>, chairman of Notre Dame's theology department.

The University received grants totaling \$673,102 in September and \$1,748,615 in October for research, equipment and sponsored educational programs, according to Vice President Frederick D. Rossini. The October figure includes the year's \$1.3 million funding of the Radiation Laboratory by the U. S. Atomic Energy Commission.

Prof. Stephen Kertesz, director of the Institute for International Studies, has received Saint Louis University's Sesquicentennial Award "for signal accomplishments in Slavic and Eastern European political science."

Brother Raphael Wilson, C.S.C., director of admissions and a specialist in radiation physiology, addressed a scientific meeting sponsored by the European Atomic Energy Community Nov. 21st at the University of Ulm, West Germany.

The director of the Mediaeval Institute, <u>Rev. A. L. Gabriel</u>, was honored at a recent testimonial dinner tendered by seven of his former students. They presented to him a volume entitled <u>Studium</u> <u>Generale</u>, a collection of articles in the field of mediaeval studies.

Prof. Vincent De Santis, chairman of the history department, lectured and participated in seminars recently at the Inter-American Defense College, Washington, D. C.

Prof. George B. Craig, Jr., director of the Mosquito Genetics Project, has been appointed to a four-year term on the tropical medicine and parasitology study section of the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.