about the archives
information for researchers
about our collections
search our collections
records management
research resources
line spacer
site map
contact us
line spacer
archives home
notre dame home

Specialized Indexes > Theatre Chronology


1889/1890 Academicl Year

Play Title: The Hidden Gem

Author: Cardinal Wiseman
Dates Performed: December 14, 1889
Director: Unknown
Stage Manager: Unknown
Sponsoring/Producing Organization: St. Cecilia Philomathean Society

Cast List

Euphemaianus: S. Hummer
Alexius: L. Monarch
Carinus: G. Weitzel
Proculus: M. Quinlan
Eusebius: J. Wright
Bibulus: F. Wile
Davus: R. Boyd
Ursulus: G. O'Brien
Verna: E. Schilo
Gannio: E. Du Brul
An Imperial Chamberlain: J. Fitzgerald
An Officer: R. Healy

Notes: The performance was given in honor of the feast /=day of the Very Rev. T.E. Walsh, CSC,: the esteemed President of the University

Source(s) The Notre Dame Scholastic, Vol. 23, Dec. 21, 1889, p. 254.

Play Title: Sign of the Rose

Author: Professor Egan
Dates Performed: February 22, 1890
Director: Professor Brogan
Sponsoring/Producing Organization: Thespian Association
Event: Washington's Birthday
Venue: Washington Hall

Cast List

Robert Morton: J. Herman
Robert Kirke: J. E. Berry
Roland Cashel: J. S. Hummer
Gaston de Martin: J. E. Paradis
Giles Morton: H. P. Brelsford
Tom Ruxton: H. G. O'Neill
George Archer: J. R. Fitzgibbon
Jean Lisle: F. E. Lane
Bill Griffiths: J. B. Sullivan
Walter Jones: W. F. Ford
John the Jailor: C. B. Flynn
Servant: W. P. Blackman


Source(s) The Notre Dame Scholastic, Vol. 23, No. 24, February 22, 1890, p. 386.

Play: The Triumph of Justice or The Orphan Avenged

Author: J. A. Lyons
Dates Performed: March 17, 1890
Director: Professor Brogan:
Sponsoring/Producing Organization: The Columbian Dramatic Association
Event: St. Patrick's Day

Cast List

The Baron: T. J. McConlogue
Claudio: J. S. Johnson
Agostino: T. M. Sanford
Captian Zavier: C. Brookfield
Colonel Rigolio: W. F. Ford
Myrtillo: R. E. Langan
Estevan: J. T. Fleming
Pablo: B. A. Lair
Gaspardo: W. E. Lahey
Benedict: J. K. Combe
Tomaso: F. Krembs
Carlo: W. O'Neill
Pedro: H. J. Carroll
Officers of Justice: F. P. Dorsey, J. Dyer
Goatherds: W. Johnson, L. Monarch, F. Schillo, G. Schillo, J. McPhillips


Source(s) The Notre Dame Scholastic, Vol. 23, No. 28, March 22, 1890, p. 449.

Play Title The Men of '76:

Author: Not found
Dates Performed: Tuesday, June 24
Event: Commencement:

Cast List

Major Gilbert: Wm. Lahey
Roger: W. P. McPhee
Allan: C. Ramsey
Leonard: L. Sutter
Uncle Eph: W. Blackman
Captain of Minute Men: J. W. Hackett
Ruiz: J. E. Berry
Clover: E. Schaack
Sergeant: F. Long

Source(s) The Notre Dame Scholastic, Vol. 23, No. 43, July 2, 1890, p. 691.