about the archives
information for researchers
about our collections
search our collections
records management
research resources
line spacer
site map
contact us
line spacer
archives home
notre dame home

Specialized Indexes > Theatre Chronology


1907/1908 School Year

Play Title: The Rivals

Author: Richard Brinsley Sheridan
Dates Performed: Jan. 13, 1908
Director: not found
Stage Manager: S. W. Donalds
Sponsoring/Producing Organization: not found

Cast List


Source(s): Play Program, PNDP 76-Mi-01 AB1.1 (ND Archives)

Play Title: Sandy, The Half-Back

Author: not found
Dates Performed: President's Day
December 10, 1908
Director: not found
Stage Manager: not found
Sponsoring/Producing Organization: not found

Cast List

Sandy Smith: William Ryan
Josiah Krop: Frank A. Zink
Philip Krop: Raymond A. McNally
Bill Short: Howard W. McAleenan
Kenneth Sumner: John B. Kanaly
Percy Gordon: Leslie J. McPatlin
Dick Hart: Lester M. Livingston
Babe Van Twiller: William Dolan
Joe Fleetwood: Claude A. Sorg
J. Booth McReady: George Sprenger
Professor Dryden: Fank A. Zink
Mabel Sumner: Thomas K. Dunbar
Sam: H. W. Hilton


Source(s) 1908 Dome

Play Title: Hamnet William Shakespeare:

Author: Professor John Lane O'Connor
Dates Performed: St. Patrick's Day, March 17, 1908
Director: Brother Cyprian
Stage Manager: Not found.
Sponsoring/Producing Organization: The Philopatrian Association

Cast List

Hamnet W. Shakespeare: F. N. Burt
William Shakespeare: W. R. Tipton
Aaron Hathaway: W. F. Nugent
Dick Hodgson: W. P. Downing
Bob Bunch: R. H. Bowles
Ned Burton: B. F. McLain
Wat Brewster: L. M. Livingstone
Diavolo: M. D. Fanning
Roberio: C. J Tyler
Jeppo: J. L. Parkes
Bozzo: C. P. Schinkler
Adrino: F. J. Donohue
Karpo: H. W. Prendergast
Pedro: H. A. Duffy
Eduardo: E. A. Moynihan
Elvino: L. S. Dillon
Luigi: H. R. Wobles
Giovanni: J. A. Hubbell
Ricardo: E. A. Smyth
Beppo: P. A. Schmitt
Silvio: G. B. Sippel
Marco: T. D. Collins
Tom Brown: J. S. Mc Iver
Jem Norman: W. F. Cody
Simon Hall: G. A. Milius
Nick Travers: M. Gumbiner
Robin King: J. M. Fordyce
George Barnes: J. W. Schwalbe

Notes: The author of this play was a former professor of the University

Source(s) 1908 Dome - Dramatics Section

Play Title: Twelfth Night

Author: William Shakespeare
Dates Performed: Easter Monday
April 20, 1908
Director: Professor Farrell Scenery Design Bro. Cyprian
Stage Manager: not found
Sponsoring/Producing Organization: The Dramatic Society of the University

Cast List

Duke Orsino: Frank Zink
Sir Toby Belch: George Sprenger
Sir Andrew Aguecheek: Richard Wilson
Malvolio: John M. Fox
Sebastian: Raymond P. Hughes
Antonio: Grover C. McCarthy
Clown: Claude A Sorg
Fabian: William J. Moore
Sea Captain: Harry A. Burdich
Valentine: William J. Moore
Viola: Leo C. McElroy
Olivia: Frank A. Madden
Maria: Howard W. McAleenan


Source(s) 1908 Dome - Dramatic Section