University of Notre Dame

Archdiocese of New Orleans Collection

1576-1897 (bulk 1786-1897)

Origination : Catholic Church. Archdiocese of New Orleans (La.)
Extent : 34 linear feet.
Repository : University of Notre Dame Archives
Address : Notre Dame, Indiana 46556
In Spanish, French, Latin, and English.

Administrative Information


Gift of Francis Janssens, Archbishop of New Orleans, in the 1890s.

Preferred Citation

Archdiocese of New Orleans Collection (ANO), University of Notre Dame Archives (UNDA), Notre Dame, IN 46556

Scope and Content

Chiefly papers of bishops Luis Penalver y Cardenas, 1793-1810; Louis Guillaume-Valentin Dubourg, 1815-1826; Joseph Rosati, CM, apostolic administrator, 1827-1829; Leo Raymond de Neckere, 1829-1833; Anthony Blanc, 1835-1860; Jean Marie Odin, 1861-1870; Napoleon J. Perché, 1870-1883; Francis X. Leray, 1883-1887; and Francis Janssens, 1888-1897.

Other correspondents include the Capuchin bishop, Cyril Antonio Sieni, better known as Bishop Cyril of Barcelona, who was the first resident bishop to have jurisdiction over Louisiana, 1784-1793; Rev. Thomas Hassett, administrator of Louisiana, 1801-1803; Father Antonio de Sedella, auxiliary vicar and pastor of the parish of St. Louis, New Orleans, who was a leader in the power disputes that plagued the new diocese in the first years of the 19th century; and Frederick Lacheze of Guadelope, West Indies (1820s and 1830s).

Also a microfilm copy of a diary kept by Archbishop Jean Marie Odin.

A microfilm edition (12 reels) of the records of the Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas (1576-1803) with an accompanying guide has been published by the University of Notre Dame Archives (1967).



Established in 1793 as the Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas, it took in all the territory from the Rocky Mountains to the Atlantic Ocean and from Canada to the Gulf of Mexico except the territory of the Diocese of Baltimore (i.e., territory belonging to the United States). Before 1793 Louisiana had been under the juristiction of the Diocese of Santiago de Cuba, before 1762 under the authority of the Diocese of Quebec.


Catholic Church. Archdiocese of New Orleans (La.)
St. Louis Parish, New Orleans
Luis Penalver y Cardenas, 1749-1810
Dubourg, Louis Guillaume-Valentin, 1766-1833
Rosati, Joseph, CM, 1789-1843
Neckere, Leo Raymond de, 1800-1833
Blanc, Anthony, 1792-1860
Odin, John Mary, 1801-1870
Perché, Napoleon J., 1805-1883
Leray, Francis X., 1825-1887
Janssens, Francis, 1843-1897
Sieni, Cyril Antonio, 1731-1809
Hassett, Thomas
Sedella, Antonio de
Lacheze, Frederick

Related Material